About Council


The Shantou University Council was established in 1987 with the approval of the Guangdong Provincial Government. Its goal is to learn the advanced experience of running universities both at home and abroad, and to better execute national educational principles and other relative policies. It also aims to develop Shantou University into a top-tier open reformational and experimental university. With the features of its being in a special economic zone and the hometown of many overseas Chinese, it expects STU to become famous and influential, both at home and abroad as soon as possible. The Council seeks out and facilitates government support, makes important decisions about campus construction and convenes on a regular basis to discuss the University's continuing development.


The 10th Shantou University Council is composed of twenty-three council members, an honorary financial consultant, an honorary legal consultant, and two special consultants. The famous patriot of Hong Kong, Mr. Li Ka-shing, holds the post of the Honorary Chairman. The directors are personnel involved in the practical work being done at Shantou University, and celebrities at home and abroad in academia, education, medical treatment, science and technology, and other professions.


Reporting directly to the University Council are the Finance Committee, Academic Development Committee, University Affairs Development Committee, Resource Management and Application Committee, Campus Planning and Construction Committee and the General Office.


The service term for a Council member is three years. A plenary and working meeting is held yearly. If necessary, with the agreement of the honorary chairperson and the chairperson, an extraordinary meeting can be called at any time. The daily affairs of the University Council are managed by the General Office that is responsible to the chairman of the STU Council.


Member List of the Tenth Shantou University Council(Updated on June 12,2018)                     

  Name Title
Honorary Chairman Li Ka-shing Chairman,Li Ka Shing Foundation
Chairman Huang Ningsheng Vice Governor, People's Government of Guangdong Province
Council Member   Vice General Secretary, People's Government of Guangdong Province
  Jing Lihu Head of the Department of Education of Guangdong Province
  Fang Lixu General Secretary, Chinese Communist Party Committee of Shantou City
  Zheng Jiange Mayor, People's Government of Shantou City
  Huang Jiefu Standing Member of the 12th National Committee of the CPPCC; Deputy Director of the Committee of Education, Science, Culture, Health and Sports of the CPPCC; Chairman of National Organ Donation and Transplantation Committee; President of China’s Organ Transplantation Development Foundation; Dean of the Hospital Management Research Institute of Tsinghua University; Professor of Liver Surgery, Peking Union Medical College Hospital.
  Zhao Qinping Academician, Chinese Academy of Engineering; Chairman of Science and Technology Committee of Ministry of Education; President of Chinese Association for Simulation
  Li Liming National Inspector of Ministry of Education,
Endowed Chair Professor of Peking University
  Ma Weihua Chairman, National Fund for Technology Transfer and Commercialization (NFTTC); Chairman of China Global Philanthropy Institute; Former Executive Director, President and CEO, China Merchants Bank
  Fok Tai Fai Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  Gabriel M Leung Dean of the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine,The University of Hong Kong
  Fok Tai Fai Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  Gabriel M Leung Dean, Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine, The University of Hong Kong
  Wang Xiaofan Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Donald and Elizabeth Cooke Professor of Experimental Oncology; Professor of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology, Duke University Medical Center, USA
  Wu Hong Chair Professor and Dean, School of Life Sciences, Peking University
  Jiang Hong Party Secretary & President, Shantou University 
  Gu Peihua Provost, Shantou University; Fellow, the Canadian Academy of Engineering
  Bian Junhui Executive Dean, Shantou University Medical College
  Richard Li Director, Li Ka Shing Foundation, Pacific Century Group Chairman and Chief Executive
  Frieda Law Executive Director, Li Ka Shing Shantou University Foundation
  Amy Au Director, Li Ka Shing Foundation
  Katherine Lo Executive Director, Li Ka Shing Shantou University Foundation
  Han Ran Vice Dean & Professor, Cheung Kong School of Art and Design, Shantou University
  Xu Liyan Professor, Shantou University Medical College
Honorary Financial Consultant Frank Lyn PwC HK Senior Partner, China & HK Markets Leader
Honorary Legal Consultant Angelina Lee Partner, Woo, Kwan, Lee & Lo Solicitors & Notaries
Special Consultant Ba Denian Academician, Chinese Academy of Engineering; Member of Institute of Medicine (IOM), National Academy of Sciences, USA
  Wei Yu Academician, Chinese Academy of Engineering;
Former Vice Minister, Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China;
Former Vice President, China Association for Science &Technology;
Honorary Member, China Association for Science &Technology;
Member, National Education Consultation Committee, China;
Honorary Director, Science Education Committee, the Chinese Society of Education(CNASE);
Vice President of Chinese Society for Cognitive Science
Honorary President, China Women's Association for Science and Technology